Tuesday, 16 August 2016

Webern, Brahms and a Watkins première from Søndergård and BBC NOW - Prom 37

© BBC/Mark Allan

BBC Prom 37

Paul Watkins (cello)
Thomas Søndergård (conductor)

12 August 2016

Walton: Partita

Huw Watkins: Cello Concerto

Webern: Passacaglia, Op. 1

Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98

'Moments of real beauty here, and this is definitely a work that would merit a second hearing in a more favourable acoustic'.

'It certainly exploited Paul Watkins’ consistently warm tone well, and this was an engaging performance of a promising addition to the concerto repertoire'.

'A taught and arresting performance'.

'Fine playing from the BBCNOW, with sweet string tone and incisive woodwind playing throughout'.

'An unexpectedly controlled affair'...(with)...'little space for indulgence'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

Paul Watkins

No comments:

Post a Comment