Friday, 6 March 2015

Unexpected insights and fresh perspectives from the OAE, Fischer and Mullova

© Richard Haughton
The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Ádám Fischer (conductor)
Viktoria Mullova (violin)

'Flying the Flag: Best of Both'

Smetana: Overture, The Bartered Bride
Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77
Dvořák: Symphony no. 9 in E minor, 'From the New World', Op.95

Royal Festival Hall, Wednesday 4 March, 2015.

'The OAE showed that their pared back sound in no way lacked energy and spirit'.

'The OAE and Fischer ... brought freshness and new perspectives to familiar repertoire'.

'We were brought up short and forced to listen to the music in a new way – surely the aim of a good live performance'.

Read my full review here.

No comments:

Post a Comment