Friday, 31 January 2020

Thrilling Shostakovich with a heart of desperation from the LSO and Noseda

Gianandrea Noseda
© Mark Allan
Christian Tetzlaff (violin)
Gianandrea Noseda (conductor)

Thursday 30 January 2020

Barbican Hall, London

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953): Symphony No. 1 in D major, 'Classical', Op. 25
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Violin Concerto No. 3 in G major, 'Strassburg', K216
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750: Partita No. 3 in E major, BWV 1006, Gigue
Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881): Khovanshchina: Prelude 'Dawn on the Moscow River'
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975): Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 70

'Noseda and the LSO achieved a good balance here between accentuating the wit and edge, whilst maintaining “classical” precision and simplicity'.

'Christian Tetzlaff’s Mozart was warm and expressive, performing with a lively bounce in his step'.

'Noseda shaped the dynamics and brought out the detail of this brief but striking miniature'.

'Noseda notched up the tension, driving on to a scream before the grotesque march, and then the final sudden switch into the breathless conclusion'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

Christian Tetzlaff/Gianandrea Noseda/London Symphony Orchestra
© Nick Boston

Gianandrea Noseda/London Symphony Orchestra
© Nick Boston