Tuesday, 28 July 2015

Poised & understated Nielsen & Mozart from Christian Blackshaw & the RNS Winds

© Herbie Knott
BBC Proms Chamber Music 2

Christian Blackshaw (piano)
Royal Northern Sinfonia Winds:
Juliette Bausor (flute)
Steven Hudson (oboe)
Timothy Orpen (clarinet)
Stephen Reay (bassoon)
Peter Francomb (horn)

Introduced by Petroc Trelawny

Nielsen: Wind Quintet, Op. 43

Mozart: Quintet in E flat major for piano and winds, K452

Cadogan Hall, Monday 27 July 2015

© Mark Savage
'A subtle performance',  'stylish and sophisticated'.

'Beautifully smooth lines' and 'a wonderfully warm blend'.

'This was sophisticated Mozart playing at its best, no fireworks, just beautiful music being allowed to breathe'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment