Friday, 1 March 2019

Passion and playfulness in an engaging programme from Joshua Bell and Sam Haywood

Joshua Bell, © Richard Ashcroft

Joshua Bell (violin)
Sam Hayward (piano)

Wednesday 27 February 2019

Barbican Hall, London

Beethoven: Sonata No. 4 in A minor, Op. 23

Prokofiev: Sonata No. 2 in D major, Op. 94a

Grieg: Sonata No. 2 in G major, Op. 13


Clara Schumann: Three Romances, Op. 22 – No.1: Andante molto

Brahms: Hungarian Dances WoO1, No. 1 in G minor, arr. Joachim

Wieniawski: Scherzo-Tarantelle, Op. 16

'Their Beethoven had spark and delicate simplicity, whilst their Prokofiev was full of bite and foot-stomping rhythms'.

'Bell took flight with the circus acrobatics of the finale'.

'Bell and Hayward’s passionate performance was a delight'.

'Haywood's limpid opening supporting Bell's beautifully silky tone'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment