Wednesday, 3 April 2019

Three Bartók concertos for the price of one: Capuçon, Eötvös and the BBCSO in Monte-Carlo

Renaud Capuçon, Péter Eötvös & BBCSO,
© Alain Hanel 

Renaud Capon (violin)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Péter Eötvös (conductor)

Sunday 31 March, 2019

Salle des Princes, Grimaldi Forum, Monte-Carlo

Festival Printemps des Arts de Monte-Carlo

Bartók, Béla (1881-1945): Concerto for Violin No. 1, Sz 36 (BB 48a)
                                          Concerto for Orchestra, Sz 116 (BB 123)
                                          Concerto for Violin No. 2 Sz 112 (BB 117)

Renaud Capuçon, Péter Eötvös & BBCSO, 
© Alain Hanel
'Capuçon was highly convincing, confidently supported by Eötvös and the BBCSO'.

'The BBCSO players were on strong form throughout, with a rich string sound in particular'.

'Eötvös also paced the frequent tempi changes here with great care'.

'Capuçon’s performance was captivatingly mobile and physical'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment