Wednesday, 2 December 2020

Refreshing Beethoven from Benedetti, Kuusisto and the Philharmonia

Pekka Kuusisto (conductor)

7.30pm, Monday 30 November (streamed online)

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827): 
Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36

Violin Concerto:
Benedetti ‘certainly paid close attention to detail, whilst never getting bogged down ... , always maintaining a refreshing lightness of touch, and a sense of the overall picture’. 

‘Her tone was open, feathery and almost breathy, certainly never weighty or cloying’.

‘The oboe ‘cadenzas’ ... in the finale were great fun, and gave a light frisson to proceedings, all part of a bright and fresh overall performance’.  

Pekka Kuusisto & the Philharmonia
© Camilla Greenwell 
Symphony No. 2:
‘Ensemble was tight, with precision in the playing, and strong attention to dynamics throughout‘.

‘Highlights included ... a gracefully shaped second movement, with a light swagger to its lilting dance section’.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.


No comments:

Post a Comment