Tuesday, 25 May 2021

Sunny Dvořák and passionate Brahms from Nézet-Séguin and the Orchestre Métropolitain

Yannick Nézet-Séguin
© Hans Van der Woerd

Yannick Nézet-Séguin (conductor)

Saturday 17 April 2021
Reviewed from online stream Friday 21 May 2021 (available until 30 May here)

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904): Serenade for Winds, Cello & Double Bass in D minor, Op. 44

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98

'Fluid dexterity and evident enjoyment'.

'Nézet-Séguin took the finale at a great lick, and the articulation from the wind players was impressive yet never laboured, maintaining a sense of playful fun throughout'.

'Nézet-Séguin still maintained an element of lightness in the driving hemiolas, even as the movement soared to its mighty conclusion'

'A Brahms 4 with passion and drama, yet never settling for sheer weight of delivery over expression and attention to detail'.

'This performance showcased a conductor and orchestra at the top of their game'. 

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment