Monday, 29 June 2015

Dohnányi and the Philharmonia in a rousing close to the season

© Andreas Garrels/NDR
Christoph von Dohnányi (conductor)
Arabella Steinbacher (violin)
Lawrence Power (viola)

The Philharmonia Orchestra

Bartók: Divertimento
Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola in E flat, K364
Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A, Op. 92

Royal Festival Hall, Sunday 28 June 2015.

'Dohnányi maintained a fine balance ... between exuberance and control'.

'Power was full of energy, itching to join in with the orchestra'.

'Steinbacher’s performance ... was one of self-contained simplicity'.

'The finale was full of Beethovenian joy and life force, and Dohnányi encouraged the brass to shine, bringing this commanding performance to a rousing finish'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment