Monday, 7 December 2015

Powerful Prokofiev and Scriabin from the Philharmonia and Salonen

© Clive Barda

Esa-Pekka Salonen (Conductor)

Lang Lang (piano)

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet, excerpts
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C, Op. 26
Scriabin: La poème de l'extase, Op. 54

Thursday 3 December 2015

'The violent conclusion was truly frightening, with Salonen delivering maximum venom'.

'More than a curtain-raiser, this was a powerful performance, whetting the appetite for more Prokofiev to come'.

'A performance with moments of excitement marred by a lack of focus or a sense of partnership between pianist and orchestra'.

'Salonen and the Philharmonia players maintained a wonderful level of delicacy'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment