Monday, 9 April 2018

Intense Elgar from Isserlis, with the RPO woodwinds as equal stars of the show

© Satoshi Aoyagi

Thomas Dausgaard (conductor)

Wednesday 4 April 2018

Britten: Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, Op. 33a

Elgar: Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85

Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances, Op. 45

Britten: 'Some excellent woodwind playing here (a feature of the evening), weaving around the viola and cello theme'. 

Elgar: 'Isserlis’ Elgar was commanding, intense and passionate, and his presence and audience communication was engaging'.

Rachmaninov: '... exceptional quality of the woodwind playing throughout. With much solo work, as well as extensive ensemble passages, the entire section was as sharp as a pin tonight'.

'An intelligent and engaging reading of this somewhat underrated score'.  

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment