Friday, 11 January 2019

Melnikov and Staier bring intimacy and fresh edge to Schubert

Alexander Melnikov, © Marco Borggreve

Alexander Melnikov (piano)
Andreas Staier (piano)

Thursday 10 January, 2019

Wigmore Hall, London


March in B minor D819 No.3
Four Ländler D814
Polonaise in D minor D824 No. 1
Marche caractéristiques in C D968b No. 1
Andantino varié in B minor D823 No. 2
Rondo in A D951
Variations on an original theme in A flat major D813
Fantasie in F minor B940

Andreas Staier, © Josep Molina
'Staier’s first variation triplet decoration was fluid and subtle, whilst Melnikov’s running secondo part in the second variation was equally agile'.

'Staier and Melnikov held this moment perfectly, before releasing us into the trotting rhythms of the final variation'.

'Staier and Melnikov held our collective breathes'.

'Staier and Melnikov’s tautly sensitive interpretation made for a very special moment of music making'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment