Friday, 3 May 2019

Intensity, delicacy and emotion in a highly intelligent programme from Piemontesi

Francesco Piemontesi, © Marco Borggreve

Francesco Piemontesi (piano)

Thursday 2 May, 2019

Queen Elizabeth Hall, London

J. S. Bach, arr. Busoni:            Prelude and Fugue in E flat major, BWV552 – Prelude
                                                Chorale Prelude, ‘Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland’, BWV659
                                                Chorale Preulde, ‘Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme’, BWV645
J. S. Bach:                               Italian Concerto, BWV971
attrib. J. S. Bach, arr. Kempff: Siciliano in G minor, BWV1031
J. S. Bach, arr. Busoni:           Prelude and Fugue in E flat major, BWV552 – Fugue
Debussy:                                 Images, Book 2
Rachmaninov:                        Sonata No.2 in B flat minor, Op. 36 (original version)
Schubert:                                Impromptu No. 2 in A flat major, D935 (op. post. 142)

'He certainly gave us fireworks in Busoni’s thundering ... Bach, and of course in Rachmaninov’s turbulent outpouring'.

'...delicacy, contemplation and some beautifully coloured and atmospheric pianism'.

'Piemontesi delivered the cascading, pealing bells of Cloches à travers les feuilles with an ethereally soft touch'.

'...Piemontesi demonstrating dazzling virtuosity and phenomenal control as Rachmaninov’s passionate expression reached its heady climax'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment