Saturday, 27 March 2021

Electric Shostakovich and polished Stravinsky from Andris Nelsons in Boston

Andris Nelsons (conductor)

Streamed online via BSO NOW
from 4pm GMT, Thursday 25 March 2021 

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971): Symphonies of Wind Instruments

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975): Symphony No. 1 in F minor, Op. 10

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975): Tahiti Trot, Op. 16

Eda Rapoport (1890-1968): Poem, for viola and piano, Op. 14

Andris Nelsons
© Aram Boghosian
'The shrill opening woodwind call to attention, answered by warm-toned low chordal brass, set the scene and the angular oboe solo, circling flute and clarinet lines and final mournful chorale were delivered with captivating precision'.

Shostakovich Symphony No. 1:
'Nelsons and the BSO gave us razor sharp precision, and great energy, with some impressive solo work from principal players'.

Shostakovich Tahiti Trot:
'Nelsons and the BSO gave it a pleasingly delicate touch'.

'An engaging performance of an intriguing miniature'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here

No comments:

Post a Comment