Monday, 20 March 2017

Ashkenazy and the Philharmonia: no fireworks, just the joy of music-making

Vladimir Ashkenazy

Vladimir Ashkenazy (conductor)
Veronika Eberle (violin)
Antoine Tamestit (viola)

Philharmonia Orchestra

Thursday 16 March, 2017

Royal Festival Hall, London

Veronika Eberle (© Marco Borggreve)
Schubert: Rosamund, Princess of Cyprus: Overture

Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola in E flat major, K364 (K320d)

Elgar: Symphony No. 1 in A flat major, Op. 55

'There were no fireworks, no empty gestures, but with low-key style .... he presented intelligent and engaging readings of three contrasting works'.

'a performance with great elegance and beauty'.

Antoine Tamestit (© Jose Lavezzi)

(Adagio): 'Ashkenazy presented a reading that was touching and almost fragile at times'.

'The effect was suitably exhilarating, concluding a thoroughly engaging and lively performance'.

Read my full review on Backtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment