Tuesday, 29 September 2020

Spirited Mendelssohn without frills from the English Chamber Orchestra

© English Chamber Orchestra
  Members of the English Chamber 

  Stephanie Gonley (violin)

  David Juritz (violin)

  Michael Gurevich (violin)

  Katerina Nazarova (violin)

  Roger Chase (viola)

  Lydia Lowndes-Northcott (viola)

  Lionel Handy (cello)

  Jonathan Ayling (cello)

Sunday 27 September, 4pm

Beckenham Place Mansion, London

(reviewed from online stream)

Alexander Borodin (1833-1887): String Sextet in D minor

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847): Octet in E flat major, Op. 20

'A spirited performance of Mendelssohn’s joyous Octet, with an appetiser of Borodin’s incomplete String Sextet'.


'A warm performance'.


'Mendelssohn's proto-Midsummer Night's Dream Scherzo had a light touch, taken at an energetic lick'.

'The group’s enthusiasm was evident, building to the movement’s glorious climax and a joyous flourish to finish'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment