Saturday, 3 October 2020

Warmth and pleasure in music-making from Michael Collins and LMP friends

Michael Collins
© Nick Rutter
  Michael Collins (clarinet)
  Members of the London Mozart Players
  Simon Blendis (violin)
  Jennifer Godson (violin)
  Judith Busbridge (viola)
  Sebastian Comberti (cello)

  Thursday 1 October, 7pm

  (reviewed from online stream)


Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826): Clarinet Quintet in B flat major, Op. 34

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Clarinet Quintet in A major, K581

Michael Collins & the London Mozart Players
© Nick Rutter
'There was some especially sensitive pianissimo moments from the players in the operatically dramatic slow movement'.

Collins' 'virtuosic command was without doubt, but also the variety of tone was impressive, from the bright upper reaches right down to the rich depths'.

'A beautifully warm performance, with close communication from all and evident joy on Collins’ face'.

'The finale was a joy from beginning to end, and Judith Busbridge’s viola solo in the slow minor variation was heartfelt, with a gorgeously rich tone'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment