Friday, 23 October 2020

Sunlit Brahms and fizzy Haydn on the south coast

Stephen Hough, Mark Wigglesworth & the BSO
© Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

Stephen Hough (piano)
Mark Wigglesworth (conductor)

Wednesday 21 October, 7.30pm

Lighthouse, Poole
(reviewed from BSO@Home online stream)

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): Symphony No. 99 in E flat major

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 83

© Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra

'Playfulness continued into the Menuet and Trio, taken at a steady pace, but full of fun and energy. That energy then broke free in the skittish Finale'.

'The woodwind players in particular demonstrated impressive articulation, while string ensemble was once again tight, with the fugal passages given great intensity and bite'. 

Hough certainly delivered the requisite weight, yet never at the expense of clarity of articulation, or warmth of interpretation.

'Full orchestral tuttis again had power and particularly rich brass, but almost no detail was missed by Wigglesworth'.

Read my full review on Bachtrack here.

No comments:

Post a Comment